thesinglewayoflife

Just another WordPress.com site

Monday Weigh-in

on December 26, 2011

  Well here is the before and after pictures, usually the one on the right is the before but unfortunately it is the after.  I have gained over 50 pounds in the last 10 years.  The left picture which was taken two years ago was when I lost 20 pounds put only because I was barely eating.  And let me tell you I was sick all the time, had the shakes and dizziness, probably from not eating enough.  I looked amazing for my sister’s wedding but the weight staying off didn’t last long because…well…I like food and started eating full meals again, and not only gained the 20 back but ten more and hit my heaviest of 190. 

When I hit that weight I was miserable and on top of it developed a back pain that wasn’t going away.  I am in my 30’s and don’t need to feel and act like I am 90 but I felt that way in the beginning of the year.  The funny thing was I still ran a half marathon in May and it only took me 2 and 1/2 hours to complete, I was down by then to 160 lbs which was due to a stressful job that helped me drop 30 pounds in a month…can you say unhealthy.   So needless to say after I quit that very stressful and unfulfilling job I gained all the weight back again (sigh).

So, here I look at the end of a year and the beginning of a new one and I have decided to grow up.  Yup, I am going to finally act my age and learn to eat my veggies, fruit and lean meats.  I really love sweets (oh Pepsi’s how I love thee), and Carbs, lots and lots of Carbs.  It is time to lose weight the healthy way and to be happy with my body.  I am a big believer in loving yourself no matter the shape and I do love me, but I plan on loving me more when I lose the excess weight around my middle, plus I want to be a healthy for myself and so that I look better as I age instead of, “That girl who used to be pretty.”

Here are my starting numbers for this coming year and keep in mind I am only 5’8:

Weight: 180 lbs

Waist: 34 in

Hips: 44 in

Thigh: 25 in

Arms: 12.5 in

Okay, here I come 2012 I want to dig out the body I know I have.  I want to become that athletic woman I know that is kicking to get out.  Time for a new way of living and eating.

2 responses to “Monday Weigh-in

  1. milkyminx says:

    Good luck with your goals Singlewayoflife. The name of your blog is interesting. It reminds me of something a friend once pointed out, namely that being alone and being lonely isn’t the same thing. So I am inclined to see some strength in choosing the single way of life, particularly if one understands how full if can be, not just how solitary, though solitude has its own benefits. 🙂 This combined with reading your earlier post, leads me to think that you weren’t a failure in the relationship arena just because you had no dates in 2011; Sometimes we sum incorrectly. You probably met many people, and if you find value in each engagement, you hopefully found some fulfillment, not failure as the number zero suggests. All the best on your journey, whether your actively doing or contemplating.//mm

    • Thank you. I am a big believer in being single and being happy than just settling with someone. If I am going to end up with anyone that person is going to be my friend and some one I can be myself completely with.

Leave a Reply

The Whole Eggchilada

One brunch at a time

Christopher A. Short

Fine design and typography curiosities

A Bowl Full of Lemons

Just another WordPress.com site

Flourish in Progress

Just another WordPress.com site

i heart organization

Just another WordPress.com site

Young House Love

Just another WordPress.com site

thesinglewayoflife

Just another WordPress.com site

